Custom Search

To advertise on this site email advertise@goatnetworking.com

Cisco AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 Failures

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Cisco AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 Failures

Postby admin » Wed May 15, 2013 3:47 pm

I have found that in one of my locations I have a failure rate of about 10% of my AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 access points. I get red lights on the AP with nothing on the console. I have tried replacing the radios, but they are still dead. They are all powered via POE, some by power injectors, other by POE+ switches.

Is anybody else having these access points fail?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Cisco AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 Failures

Postby admin » Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:18 pm

I ended up replacing over 30 of my 300 of them due to this failure. I tried swapping known good radio's, but that didn't help.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Cisco AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 Failures

Postby admin » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:06 am

Sorry for the delay. A few months ago I was able to take a tour of Cisco's wireless research facility in North East Ohio. I talked to a researcher about this issue. He stated that it's possibly due to a dry capacitor. After power is lost, then restored, the dry capacitor fails, then the AP triggers the red light.

I took a known good 2.4 and 5 radio modules and put them on a failed AP and it still gave me the red light and didn't work.

I purchased 2602's and put them in the office area, then removed the 1252's from the office and put them in the warehouse to replace the failed AP's. The 2602's look a lot nicer in the office then the 1252i's. I didn't want to buy more 1252's.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Cisco AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 Failures

Postby admin » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:07 am

I now have even more failures, either a solid red light or a solid red and green light. I have noticed that it does not matter if it's on a power injector or via a POE+ switch.

This is what it looks like on the switch when I issue the "show power inline" command

Gi0/6 auto off 0.0 n/a n/a 20.0
Gi0/7 auto on 20.0 AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 3 20.0
Gi0/8 auto off 0.0 n/a n/a 20.0
Gi0/9 auto on 20.0 Ieee PD 3 20.0 --> The failed access point

Gi0/10 auto on 20.0 AIR-LAP1252AG-A-K9 3 20.0

In about 4.5 years I will have replaced about 45 out of 300 APs due to this failure.

Return to Wireless

Twitter Facebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests